Let’s Play: Final Fantasy II (Part 3)

8 02 2013

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_01

After being gouged out of their money by the greedy blacksmith, our heroes were sent to destroy the evil empire’s doomsday weapon, the Dreadnought.

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_02
Meet Borgen, the incompetent bad guy of FF2.

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_03
To get to the Dreadnought, we have to go through the sewers. Why does every game have to have a sewer level?

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_04
THOSE ARE BALLOONS? No wonder kids are scared of clowns with balloon animals.

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_05
Well, that sucks.

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_08
Jesus! Its like a mechanical whale with propellers!

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_09
Funny how anti-climactic things get when put into perspective, huh?

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_18
In order to stop the Dreadnought, we must find an artifact called the Goddess Bell. Its back in the snow plains. Joy. Oh, and Captain Canoe leaves the party. There goes my dedicated healer.

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_20
Apparently Ponchoman has a snowmobile that we can use to reach the snow cave. And he hid it in a secret room in the waterfall cave. Why?

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_22
So Ponchoman joins the party. AND HE IS AWESOME. Seriously. Multicolored poncho AND Rayman-style fisticuffs. That’s pretty much win.

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_23
REALLY? WE’RE DOING THE CHEST THING AGAIN? How does a SNOWMOBILE fit in a chest?

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_28
Oh hey. That must be the cave we’re supposed to go to…
Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_25
THAT IS NOT A SNOWMAN!

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_30
So after navigating an overly complicated cave system, our heroes stumble across…a cave of talking beavers. WTF?

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_32
Same to you buddy.

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_33
Of course you do. Why not?

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_35
Because THIS required translation. Stick to hitting things with an axe Chicken.

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_36
A what? Wolverine turtle? There’s only one way for us to survive that.

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_37
KILL IT WITH ICY DEATH!!!

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_38
Yay!
Seriously though, talking Beavers, metal turtles, and a boxing man in a poncho. I think this game has officially jumped the shark. This seems to be a good jumping off point for now. Next time we’ll take a look at the next game in the series. I wonder who our heroes will be this time?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

