Let’s Play: Final Fantasy II (Part 2)

5 02 2013

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_01

And we return, for more adventures with everyone’s favorite food-inspired heroes! When we last left our heroes, they had just been given a canoe by their turban-wearing party member and sent on a quest to find Mythril.

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_06
After sailing across the ocean (NOT in our canoe), we arrive in a small town known for having the airship we need to get to the mountainous region where the Mythril is.

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_07
Meet Cid, the Captain and creator of the world’s only airship (and also the designer of the empires doomsday weapon/boat, the Dreadnaught, but apparently we forgave him for that lapse in judgement). Yeah, he’s kind of a greedy bastard.

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_10
After arriving in our destination, we meet Josef. Josef was supposed to be hunting for Mythril, but he won’t tell you anything until you go save some villagers that have been captured by the evil army. Mostly because he doesn’t believe you.

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_13
I’m confused as to why someone would take the time to fill this cave with wooden doors. I mean, the cave isn’t NEAR anything, its off on its own above a waterfall accessible only by a CANOE (yes, it did something FINALLY). Also, I saw this episode of Are You Afraid of the Dark, one of these doors leads to a killer clown, right?

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_14
I was wrong. It was worse than a clown. It was Paul.

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_15
That dastard!

So after setting the hostages free, we travel further into the cave, since apparently that’s where all the Mythril is. All the Mythril is inside a MINING CAVE. Why did we need to hire someone to figure this out?

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_16
It’s like a Jack-in-the-box, only angrier…and with more death.

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_17 p-blade
…Please no.

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_19
So, one anti-climactic boss battle later, our heroes find the chest containing ALL THE MYTHRIL NEEDED TO MAKE WEAPONS FOR AN ENTIRE ARMY. It all fit. It one chest. I’m going to assume they just carry it back to town in the canoe.

So I get back to town and the Queen tells me to go see the blacksmith.Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_20
No shit. Make me weapons.

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_21
Oh, what the hell? I bust my ass getting Mythril for this guy and he’s still making me PAY for weapons? What a douchebag.

Well, after *grudgingly* buying new equipment for my party, I head back to see the Queen and get my next mission.
Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_22
Can I buy a vowel? Seriously, who named this place? Boris Badenov?

Tune in next time when we head to Bafsk and (maybe?) get reunited with Eggplant!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

