Let’s Play: Final Fantasy II (Part 1)

4 02 2013

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_01
It’s week 2 of my Final Fantasy marathon and today we look at entry number 2 in the series: FF2!

  Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_03
Well, that was fast.

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_04
Remember, only YOU can prevent forest fires.

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_05
HOLY SHIT, THE FIRE IS ALIVE!

So, we join our heroes: Rice, Candy, Chicken, and Eggplant as they run from the evil knights.
Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_10
Jesus! These guys do enough damage to destroy a tank.

So our heroes are defeated and black out from their wounds, only to be found by the Queen and her White Mage.
Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_13
“The Force is strong with this one.”

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_14
And they’re just going to leave me on the floor. Couldn’t at least get a bed for the gravely injured guy?

Shortly after they leave, our hero wakes up and desperately searches for his friends:
Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_16
Yeah, I could use some KFC right now too. But seriously Rice, priorities!

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_18
Finally, all our heroes are reunited…except Eggplant.

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_19
So our valiant heroes want to fight back against the evil army. But of course the Queen tells them no unless the prove themselves first…by going to the castle that is currently occupied by the evil army. She doesn’t like them very much, does she?

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_23
After using their l33t ninja skillz to infiltrate the castle, our heroes find the Prince who was thought to be dead after the last battle. And he’s dying. After telling him who they are, the Prince gives them his ring to prove their story to the Queen before he collapses dead on the floor.

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_24
Uh…well, this is awkward.

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_25
Oh well, he’s not going to need the stuff in these chests anymore!

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_28
So, after returning and giving the Ring to the Queen, she finally accepts us as rebels and sends us on a mission to retrieve Mythril metal so that the army can have kickass weapons. She sends her mage, Minwu to join us.

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_30
And he gives us a canoe. So does the party carry this over their heads for the rest of the game? I have a hard time believing it fits in a backpack.

Tune in next time when we follow the adventures of Rice, Candy, and Chicken. Will they get the Mythril? Will they ever find Eggplant?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

