Evanescence: A Music Review

4 10 2011

Its been a long time since we heard from Evanescence. Most of the original band has left to form We Are the Fallen, in which you can hear the definite influence of the Fallen album. But this month, Evanescence is back with a new, self-titled album, with Amy Lee as the only remaining original member of the band.

I want to start by saying that while the album isn’t bad, its disappointing. If you planned to buy it just for Amy Lee’s vocals, you’ll get what you wanted. But for those of us who listened to Evanescence for the “soul” that Fallen had…its just not there anymore.

Don’t get me wrong, there are some very good songs on here. My Heart is Broken, Made of Stone, Never Go Back are all really good tracks. My Heart is Broken especially captures the feel of the original Evanescence. But overall, there’s just too many generic songs. Evanescence songs used to be able to grab me right from the start with interesting melodies, piano riffs, ect. But that is gone in this album, replaced with a generic rock sound. I know I’m being repetitive, but it just really disappoints me that a band with so much originality now just blends in with all its copycats. Yeah, Evanescence sounds like an Evanescence rip-off. Wrap your head around that one.

Overall, the album isn’t bad, just generic. I’d reccomend a couple songs, but I probaby wouldn’t purchase the album as a whole. Maybe this one is an iTunes title?

Final Score: 5/10

Actions

Information

2 responses

20 10 2011
mheretowrite

I liked Bring me to life and a couple of other songs from this band.

20 10 2011
ImmortalDreamer

Yeah, Fallen (the album Bring Me to Life and most of their other well known songs are from) was by far their best album. Unfortunately, after it was released, most of the band left due to disagreements. The rest of the band started the band We Are the Fallen.

Leave a Reply

