First Impressions: White Knight Chronicles

8 11 2010

Alright, so this is a new segment of  the blog I’d like to start introducing regularly along with Ink Blots. Basically, this will be a place for me to give my first impressions of video games I’ve started playing. Usually when I get about 2-4 hours into the game (for story-based games). Its a place for me to give my thoughts and comments on the graphics, systems, and gameplay for the games.

The first game I’m going to talk about is White Knight Chronicles for the PS3. This is a game I’ve had for a month or so now, about the same time I got my PS3, but never had time to try until recently. But I’ve finally had a chance to pick it up and start playing for about 3 hours.

Graphic-wise, this game is visually stunning. This really isn’t anything new for a PS3 game, as the HD makes everything look great, but in particular I noticed things like the grain and texture of character’s clothing and such. Backgrounds are well done as well, with large, detailed cities and bright, green fields that work to immerse you in the world of WKC.

In terms of gameplay, WKC offers something different from many RPGs. The battle system is similar to that of Final Fantasy XII, but done a hell of a lot better. You commands are chosen during the real time battles and actions are carried out once the action circle reaches full. You have a menu at the bottom of the screen during battles which you can pick your attacks and skills from. The cool thing about this is that the menu is fully customizable. You add all your attacks and skills to your battle menu yourself, even being able to string attacks and spells together to form epic premade combos that you can unleash in battle. Your character is completely customizable as well. At the start of the game, everything from your character’s gender, hair, skin, eyes, facial structure and such to create a character that really makes you feel involved in the story taking place.

Overall, I’m really impressed with this game. Although it seem like it takes a lot from fantasy mech anime Escaflowne, WKC is a game that really stands in its own right. And really, I wouldn’t have expected less from Level-5, the same game development company that made Dragon Quest 9. I look forward to playing a lot more of this game.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

