Ink Blots #2

20 09 2010

Yeah, I know its been a while since I had an update on this project. Its been a busy summer for me, but I did get a chance to finish Battle for the Cowl and I’m more than half done Blackest Night.

Overall, I was impressed with Battle for the Cowl. The art was well done, costumes looked fantastic, and the story was entertaining. It did require the reader to be up to date with the goings on of the DC universe, particularly those parts relating to Batman, but as long as you know what leads up to this miniseries, you should have a problem with it. I’m sure I’ve mentioned my favorite part of this comic was Jason Todd’s version of Batman. This still holds true, I love that costume. Its just plain awesome.

Blackest Night on the other hand starts out slow. Really slow. Where Battle for the Cowl throws you right into the action of the story, Blackest Night starts out with the heroes mourning their fallen comrades. And they do this for a while. Sure, I get where its coming from, but it could have been toned down some. Way to much pointless philosophical talk for this comic.

Once the action gets going though, damn, does it ever get going. The whole concept of the Black Lantern rings is just a plain cool concept and its surprisingly executed well. Its a really overwhelming concept to realize that as the good guy numbers go down, the bad guy numbers go up. I haven’t finished this yet, but I’m really interested thus far. Heavily considering getting some of the tie-in material as well.

Actions

Information

One response

3 10 2010
madelejm

I’m looking forward to your writing a lead assignment.

Leave a Reply

