Radio is Dead

21 06 2010

I’m not even going to try and sugarcoat this. Ke$ha is single-handedly ruining radio.

I’ve never really been a fan of radio, but for a while recently, there were a decent number of songs that DIDN’T make me want to plug up my ears with super glue. Until Ke$ha came along. This woman, who seems to think the dollar sign is a letter of the alphabet, seems to completely kill anything she touches. The worst part about it is, PEOPLE ACTUALLY SEEM TO LIKE HER MUSIC. This concept actually causes me headaches trying to think of house someone could actually like her music.

I’ve had someone argue with me that her songs are catchy and her lyrics are good. Really? REALLY? I mean, sure, I didn’t like Tick Tok, but at least there were other songs I hated MORE at the time. But Blah Blah Blah? My First Kiss? Does she even THINK before recording some of this stuff? And what moron listened to the demo version of Blah Blah Blah and thought, “YES! This is amazing!”? I just don’t understand how this can be considered good in any sense of the word.

To be honest, Ke$ha comes off as one of those fifteen year old girls who goes out every weekend and gets shitfaced drunk. I don’t get why this is appealing, I have never understood why this is appealing. Someone may feel like explaining to me where I may be mistaken but getting drunk, sick and coming close to vomiting out your internal organs just doesn’t seem like a fun time to me. At all. I don’t see anything wrong with people who drink socially in moderation, but going out with the intention of getting wasted is just a stupid, juvenile mindset to have.

*breathes* Ok, I think I’m done my rant for tonight. And I think a break from the radio is in order. When I have to hear the same 4 Ke$ha songs 3 times each in the run of a day, there’s something wrong. Radio is dead to me.

Actions

Information

2 responses

27 09 2010
acarter61

As much as I think you are biased to hating mainstream music.. I am going to have to agree with you on Ke$ha having very little talent and the continuous playing of her music 15 times a day is completely ridiculous.. If I was too make a suggestion to you get satellite radio, no commercials and you can pick the music station you want to listen too!

27 09 2010
ImmortalDreamer

Yeah, I tend to exaggerate a bit when I really dislike something. There is stuff on the radio I don’t mine, it just happens that that stuff rarely gets played.

Leave a Reply

