Pandorum Review

17 01 2010

What do you get when you mix Resident Evil, The Descent, and Titan AE? You get Pandorum, a sci-fi horror from the creators of the Resident Evil films.

While not the most original movie by far, Pandorum gets major points for its atmosphere. The horror of being nearly alone inside a huge, dark ship is made believable (well, as believable as a sci-fi horror can get) in Pandorum. The tension is built well and, especially at the beginning, it keeps you on the edge of your seat waiting so see if something is going to pop out at you.

The characters are well acted, but very little backstory was given on many of them. I was very impressed that the creators included a small featurette on the lone female character’s team, giving us a small bit on information on her character.

I was a little disappointed at how little Pandorum itself is used in the storyline. Sure, its a main plot point, but other than passing mentions of what it is, its almost never mentioned until the last 30 min or so of the film. I found the ending left me with a lot of questions as well, but I don’t want to spoil anything, so I’ll shut up about that.

Overall, I loved the atmosphere the movie provided and I found it enough to distract me from the few plot holes in the story. While not perfect, its a movie I will definitely reccomend.

Rating: 3.5/5

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

